You can separate content in different libraries, a library is a group of books. Libraries access can also be restricted to specific users.
Each library has a root folder, and no library can share any part of their path.
For example if you have a library with a root path of
/books/mangas, you can't create a library with a root path of
/books, because the two root paths would overlap. You can however create a library with a root path of
# Creating libraries
From the web interface:
- click on the + icon next to Libraries in the sidebar
- choose a Name for your library
- click the Browse button and select a root folder containing your books
- click Add
You can also specify extra options.
# Scanner options 0.56.0+
# Force directory modified time
This will force the last modified time of a directory as the maximum from its own last modified time and the last modified time from all the books inside the directory. This should be used only if your filesystem does not update the last modified time of a directory when files inside it are modified (Google Drive for instance).
# Deep scan
This will force the scanner to compare all scanned books with the ones stored in the database. Normally this is not required, as Komga uses the last modified time of the parent folders to decide whether to compare books, but some filesystems may behave differently.
Enable Deep Scan if Komga often miss some books after a scan.
# Metadata options
Check the Refresh Metadata section to know more about what they do.
# Edit a library
To edit a library, look for the action menu icon and click on Edit.
If you change the root folder of a library, and the new path doesn't share anything with the previous path, you will lose all your series, books and read progress for that library.
If you change the path for a parent directory of the current path, you will not lose your content.
If you change the path for a child directory of the current path, you will lose part of your content.
# Delete a library
To delete a library, look for the action menu icon and click on Delete.
Deleting a library will remove all series and books contained in this library. Read progress for all those books will be deleted.
Your media files will not be affected.
This cannot be undone.